Skip to content
Mind Gym
Mental Relaxation
Hi! Here’s the Mind Gym.
Exercise to strengthen your immune system against depression!
Six Steps to Feel Better by Thinking Straighter

In theory, how you perceive something largely determines how you will feel about it. If you have had prolonged period of bad mood, it is by and large a result of how you think. Therefore, the way to make yourself feel more reasonably is to rationalize your own thinking.

What you can do when you encounter a problem
Step 1 :

Deal with your feelings

Try to accept your feelings and explore the sources of stress and your unhappiness. It helps you feel better.

More: Many people (especially males) have a habit of denying or underestimating their bad feelings. Talking over the sadness with them is rarely useful as they would only deny their feelings, resulting in even more distress. Instead, why don’t they try to accept their feelings? Try to accept your feelings, understand the sources of stress and your unhappiness. It helps you feel better.
Step 2 :

Accept that you can cope with bad feelings

To “cope” means to manage; you are going to get over with it! Bad feelings do not last forever!

Many people beginning stress management may complain, ‘I can’t cope with it? The problem is that the expectations are being set too high and unrealistic ?when you are really feeling sad, it would seem possible to hide the feelings from others, yet it would be impossible to hide from yourself! To “cope” means to manage; you are going to get over with it! Bad feelings do not last forever!

Let’s accept all these bad feelings:

Step 3 :

Reward your successes

You may break down life changes into smaller steps, and take them one at a time. You will have a better chance of succeeding at each step……

More: It is self-esteem that holds you in high esteem so that you do not need to rely on the approval of others. Success, on the other hand, makes you feel good and encourages you to keep going. You may break down life changes into smaller steps, and take them one at a time. Then you will have a good chance of succeeding at each step. Reward yourself as you succeed every little step, then you might see how important reinforcement is.
What you can do after the problem
Step 4 :

Try to identify your self-talk

Identify your self-talks and you can observe your reactions when you encounter a similar situation again.

More: When the problems are solved, try to remember what your initial self-talk was. Look for imaginations and fantasies, in particular. Sometimes people who claim to have a lot of self-talks are in fact repeating only two or three thoughts over and over again. Sometimes you do not seem to have any ideas but that could mean that these ideas have built into your decision-making processes. Identify your self-talks and you can observe your reactions when you encounter a similar situation again.
Step 5 :

Analysis your self-talk

See if these common mistakes in thinking have appeared in your self-talks.

More: See if these common mistakes in thinking have appeared in your self-talks:

  1. Over Generalizing You are telling yourself that, if something was true in one case, it will apply to any other cases that are similar. In reality, life is rarely that simple.
  2. Black and White Thinking See things as being only one extreme or the other. In the real world, there are in fact grey areas.
  3. Irrational Belief with No Evidence For example, saying no one likes you when you could not possibly have asked literally everybody.
  4. Distorting Perception to the Extremes Focusing on what you have done wrong and enlarging the failures or the problems out of their proportion. Looking at the world through rose-coloured glasses can be misleading too. Stop distorting the world in either direction.
  5. Imaging the Worst Assuming the worst possible outcome for any event; usually exaggerated to the extent that it’s really improbable.
  6. Taking things personally If you really managed the whole universe, please tell us how. If you think everyone notices every little mistake that you have made, please be noted that most people are too busy worrying about their own problems.
Step 6 :

Teach yourself to think rationally

Turn irrational beliefs into rational ideas.

More:

Irrational Beliefs
Rational Ideas
1. I must be loved or liked and approved by every person who came across my life. I want to be loved or liked and approved. I will be disappointed or feel lonely when that doesn’t happen, but I can cope with those feelings, and I can take constructive steps to improve interpersonal relationships.
2. I must always be completely competent, make no mistakes, and be a high achiever, if I were to be considered worthwhile. I want to do things well. Like everyone else, I will occasionally fail or make mistakes. I will feel bad, but I can cope with this feeling. I can take constructive steps to do better next time.
3. Bad or evil people should be punished. It is sad that some people do bad things from time to time, but upsetting myself is not going to alter this fact.
4. It is nearly the end of the world when things do not happen the way I want them to be. It is disappointing when things are not going my way, but I can cope with this disappointment. I will try my best to make things more as I would like them to happen; however, I will not disappoint myself when they don’t.
5. My bad feelings are caused by things outside my control, so I cannot do anything about it. My problems may be influenced by factors outside my control, but my perceptions and reactions to the problems would be within my control.
6. Things that are dangerous, unpleasant, or frightening would worry me a lot. Worrying about something that might go wrong does not stop it from happening; it merely upsets me. I don’t have to over-worry about things that have not yet happened. I will not dwell on the future or the past.
7. It is easier to put off something difficult or unpleasant than it is to face up to it. Facing difficult situations will make me feel bad at a time, but I can handle it. Putting off problems does not help to solve the problems; on the other hand, it prolongs my worries about them.
8. I need to depend on someone who is stronger than I am. It’s good to get support from others when I need it, but I should also depend on and believe in myself.
9. My present problems were rooted from the past. Some of my problems might have triggered by some past events, yet my perceptions and reactions to these problems are something under my control.
10. I should feel upset when people share with me their problems and difficulties. It is sad to see other people in trouble, but I am not going to help them by upsetting myself. I can cope with the sad feelings and actively help them.
Your vulnerability to stress – The Miller-Smith Lifestyle Assessment Inventory

Read each item carefully, and then give it a rating from 1 to 5, depending on how often that item applies to you. There are no right or wrong answers. The more accurately you answer, the better you will identify ways to combat stress.

1=Almost always 2=Often 3=Sometimes 4=Occasionally 5=Almost never

Rating
1 I eat at least one hot, balanced meal a day.
2 I get seven to eight hours sleep at least four nights a week.
3 I give and receive affection regularly.
4 I have at least one relative whom I can rely on lives around.
5 I exercise to the point of perspiration at least twice a week.
6 I smoke less than half a pack of cigarettes a day (non-smokers score 1).
7 I take fewer than five alcoholic drinks a week. (non-drinkers score 1)
8 I am the appropriate weight for my height.
9 I have an income adequate to meet basic expenses.
10 I get strength from my religious beliefs, or I feel comfortable with my view of the universe and my place in it.
11 I regularly attend club or social activities.
12 I have a network of friends/acquaintances.
13 I have one or more friends to confide in about personal matters.
14 I am in good health (including eyesight, hearing, and teeth).
15 I am able to speak openly about my feelings when angry or worried.
16 I have regular conversations with the people I live with about domestic problems, e.g. Chores, money and daily living issues.
17 I do something for fun at least once a week.
18 I am able to organize my time effectively.
19 I drink fewer than three cups of coffee (or tea or cola drinks) a day.
20 I take quiet time for myself during the day.
Total : ______
Score indicates
Less than 50 Low vulnerability
50-70 Vulnerable to distress
70-95 Seriously vulnerable
More than 95 Extremely vulnerable
The items above indicate how you deal with everyday stress. Note where you scored 3 or above. Please reread the items above, and you may find some ways to increase your vulnerability to stress.
References:

Montgomery, B. & Evans, L. (1993). (2nd ed.). You and stress. Melbourne: Viking O’Neil.

Beck, J. (1995). Cognitive therapy: Basics and beyond. New York: Guildford.

Skip to content
健心院
精神放松
你好!这里是「健心院」,
在这儿多作锻炼,有助增强忧郁免疫力!
「六步思想舒缓法」- 想得直接些,感觉舒服些!

理论上,人的「感受」很大程度受「想法」影响。如你长期心情恶劣,问题很可能来自你的想法。因此,将想法调节得宜,可令你的心情更佳!

受问题困扰时
第一步:

面对感受

尝试面对自己的感受,分析自己正面对的压力,了解不快乐的因由,反而有助改善恶劣心情。

详情:很多人(尤其男性)会否定自己的感受,即使把感受拿出来与别人讨论,其实说到底也是要否定,到头来只会令自己更难受。那么,为何不索性接受它呢?尝试面对自己的感受,分析自己正面对的压力,了解不快乐的因由,反而有助改善恶劣心情。
第二步:

恶劣心情,我能应付!

所谓的应付,是一种管理,你最终会挨过的!难受的心情又怎会持续到永远?

详情:很多人面对压力时都会嚷着:「我受不了!」其实很多时这些事情任何正常人都会觉得难受,要逼自己若无其事,反而不切实际!所谓的应付,是一种管理,你最终会挨过的!难受的心情又怎会持续到永远?

接受这些难过的感受吧:

第三步:

逐步成功,奖励自己

可尝试将大问题拆解成很多小问题,逐一处理好,令自己常常得到鼓舞……

详情:使自己重拾自信的,是自我形象,而非别人的认同。成功,令你感觉良好,并鼓励你继续前进,踏上迈向成功的道路。因此,我们可尝试将大问题拆解成很多小问题,逐一处理好,令自己常常得到鼓舞,这种奖励是非常重要的。
问题解决之后
第四步:

认清自己对自己说的话

认清自己对自己说过的话,当类似情况再次发生时,就可以倍加留心自己的反应。

详情:问题过后,回想你处于非常难过的时刻,曾对自己说过的话──那些话当中可能包含了一些如影像般的幻想;而即使你说了很多,可能来来去去只是两三种想法而已;又或者你没说什么,其实心底已经倾向某些看法,所以没对自己说出来。认清自己对自己说过的话,当类似情况再次发生时,就可以倍加留心自己的反应。
第五步:

分析自己对自己说的话

留意说话中有没有犯上「思考毛病」……

详情:留意说话中有没有犯上「思考毛病」:

  1. 一概而论 以为一件事如此,别的事也是如此。人生有那么简单吗?
  2. 黑就黑、白就白 这是极端的想法,真实世界是充满各种灰色地带的!
  3. 先入为主 例如以为人人都不喜欢自己,却没有真凭实据,就此下了定论。
  4. 将事情推向极端 只注视发生问题的地方──你的错误、你的失败、你的问题……然后将它们不合比例地放大,误导自己。有些人将自己的成功及美好的一面无限放大,同样是不适当地扭曲了世界。
  5. 想到最坏处 凡事都以为最坏情况会发生,现实上这是不大可能的。
  6. 都是自己的问题 假如你以为全宇宙的事也关你事,请告诉我们如何管治这宇宙;假如你以为人人都察觉到你的小错误,请看看──别人都在烦着自己的事。
第六步:

学习理性思考

将「不理性」思维修改为「理性」思维

详情:

「不理性」思维
「理性」思维
1. 人人都要喜欢我、认同我 我当然希望被喜欢,否则我会感到失望或寂寞,但我知道我可以面对这种感受,而且我可采取建设性的行动改善人际关系。
2. 我不能犯错,要时时刻刻有建树,方有价值 我真想把事情做好,但如所有人一样,我偶然还是会失败或犯错,导致不开心。我知道我可以应付的,而且我可以积极改善,下次做好些。
3. 坏人一定要受到惩罚 社会上不少人偶然会做坏事,有些人甚至会做很多坏事。然而,即使我不高兴,也不能改变这事实。
4. 当事情不如我所想般发生,一切就都完了 事情不如自己所想般发生,我固然会失望,但我可以应付。我会尽力令事情如自己所想般发生,不然的话,再失望也是无济于事。
5. 我的难受是由我控制范围外的事所引致,所以我不能做什么 我的问题,可能是被一些我控制范围以外的因素影响,但我的想法与行为却在我控制范围以内!
6. 凡危险的、不如意的或可怕的事,都是应该非常担心的 光在担心出问题,并不能阻止它发生,反而令自己现在更不快乐,倒不如积极面对问题,尽一己之力做应做的事。所以,现在的我无必要为将来的事担心与犹疑。
7. 困难或不如意的事情,搁在一旁,比正面面对容易 面对困况,会令我觉得难受,但我还是可以应付的。将问题搁在一旁,并不会令它变得简单,反而只会令我一直忧虑。
8. 我需要有人给我依靠 在有需要时,有人支持自己固然重要,但我真正需要信赖的人是我自己。
9. 我的问题是过去的事遗留下来的。 我的问题,也许是因为过去的事而引致,但令问题留存下去的,可能是我的想法与行为,这是我控制范围以内的事。
10. 别人有问题或困难时,我亦要陪他受困扰。 看到别人遇到问题,自己当然会难过,但一块儿伤心也帮不了忙嘛!悲哀的心情,我可以应付,有时我还可以用积极的方式帮助他们。
抗压指数 – 米勒-史密斯生活方式评核表

细阅下列各项,每题答案没有绝对的对与错。你的答案越准绳,你得到「抗压力」的资料便愈精确,以5个等级为每项问题评分:

1=几乎常常 2=时常 3=有时 4=间中 5=几乎从没有

评分
1 我每天进食至少一顿热腾腾和营养均衡的膳食。
2 我每周至少四晚有七至八小时睡眠。
3 我时常与人有感情交流。
4 在我住所附近至少有一名可以依靠的亲人或朋友居住。
5 我每周至少做两次令我出汗的运动。
6 我每天抽少于半包香烟。 (非吸烟者获得1分为评分等级)
7 我每周喝少于五杯含酒精的饮品。 (不饮酒的人获得1分为评分)
8 我的高度与重量适中。
9 我的收入足够支持我的基本开支。
10 我的宗教信仰提供我的精神力量。
11 我定时参加社交活动。
12 我有一个牢固的亲友支援网络。
13 我有至少一至两名友人可以倾吐心事。
14 我健康状况良好。 (包括良好视力、听力及健康牙齿)
15 当我发怒和焦虑时,我能够坦率地公开表达。
16 我定时与我同住的人谈论家常琐事。 (例如打理家务、金钱、日常生活事宜等等)
17 我每周至少有一次娱乐活动。
18 我编排时间有条有理。
19 我每天喝少于三杯咖啡、茶或可口可乐。
20 我每天有一段安静的时间。
总分:___
得分 表示
少于50分 不容易受压力困扰
50-70分 易受压力困扰
70-95分 受压力严重困扰
超过95分 受压力极度困扰
以上每一项阐明你处理日常压力的方法,尤其注意取得3分或以上的评分等级。请你再细读上述各项目,当中你可以找到一些提高自己「抗压力」的方法。
资料来源:

Montgomery, B. & Evans, L. (1993). (2nd ed.). You and stress. Melbourne: Viking O’Neil.

Beck, J. (1995). Cognitive therapy: Basics and beyond. New York: Guildford.